Fight the Power!

6 Aug

Time to introduce you to another great film that I have to grown to love over the years, watching it repeatedly, and gaining a new perspective with each viewing. I’m talking about Do the Right Thing, one of director Spike Lee’s earliest films and still to this day, his masterpiece, according to me. Spike Lee actually came to Maryland’s campus where I had the great pleasure of watching him speak. He definitely poured a lot of his personal experience and heart into this cinematic marvel. It’s a simple film in its premise, but oh how its story becomes increasingly complex as the day continues. The story takes place on a single day during a record breaking heat wave in Brooklyn, New York. I figure since we have had some horrible heat this summer, it’s time to examine one of cinema’s greatest examinations of racial relations reaching a boiling point. Again, review to come shortly. As some of you might have guessed, the current background for the blog comes from one of the scenes in the film. I hope to provide you guys these hints and clues so you can know where the direction of the blog is heading and what reviews I’ll be writing soon. In this case, Do the Right Thing can make you feel so many different things but I think whether you like the film or not, it will resonate with you in some way. Or at least I hope it does. Definitely try and find it and check it out.

In the meantime, I’d like to post a song, which features prominently and essentially into the film. None other than Public Enemy’s Fight the Power. If you have never heard this song before, shame on you. Honestly, this song is extraordinarily ingrained in hip-hop and rap popular culture. I don’t care if you’re not a fan of rap or hip-hop; this song transcends its genre. Anyways, in the rare case that you have not heard it, please listen to it and specifically the lyrics of the song. The song is so important in Do the Right Thing that the film would simply not be the same without it. In fact, I can never think of the song the same way since watching Do the Right Thing. It will always have an additional meaning to me after watching the film. So do yourself a favor: listen to some Public Enemy and then go ahead and watch Do the Right Thing. A great song and a great movie!

-Cinemabeats

2 Responses to “Fight the Power!”

  1. minh August 6, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    i think next you should do v for vendetta. such an awesome movie.

    • shortyrags August 8, 2011 at 1:41 am #

      While i also thought v for vendetta was enjoyable, I also know it’s a movie that a lot of people have seen. I want to try and review slightly lesser known films so that I can introduce readers to film and music that they would not see and/or hear otherwise. But I will definitely mention it in a blog post next week for you.

Leave a Reply

