Summer’s End

1 Sep

Hope all my school-age readers are enjoying their first few days back at school/university. It has certainly been a few hectic days for me. In fact, I think I am truly beginning to miss summer now that it’s gone until after another long school year. So much so that I would like to dedicate today’s post to the wonderful 500 Days of Summer. I think many people have seen this film but it originally started out as a small, independent flick that premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. It garnered a lot of praise and slowly built steam from there. I remember when I first the saw trailer for that movie, I was immediately mesmerized. The mix of the characters, the plot and the music especially really got me excited to see it. I also love Joseph Gordon-Levitt so it immediately interested me. It tells a classic story of boy meets girl but it tells it in a very original and clever way, documenting the 500 days that the boy is involved in any way with the girl, named Summer. Just like we must learn to get over summer, the film mainly depicts Tom’s struggle to get over Summer. The film’s soundtrack is just awesome. It features Regina Spektor, The Smiths, The Temper Trap, Hall & Oates as well as Wolfmother. It definitely adds a nice range to the film and helps us describe all the emotions that true, honest love can evoke out of us. If you have not seen 500 Days of Summer, check it out as soon as possible because it is a great crowd-pleaser and a film that will make you reconsider your feelings about love.

I am going to put the trailer on a movie intro for the first time because I really liked this trailer a lot.

Trailer:

Now some of the music:

Enjoy!

-Cinemabeats

One Response to “Summer’s End”

  1. Fatima September 1, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    awesome. =) i love this movie. the regina spektor tracks evoked so much emotion the way they’re used in the movie, particularly “hero” with the ‘expectations’ and ‘reality’ scene. love it.

Leave a Reply

